Releases / Albums

Mary Ocher
The West Against The People

10 March 2017 / Klangbad

  1. 1. Firstling II
  2. 2. To The Light (feat. Your Government)
  3. 3. Zah Zah: Part I (feat. Your Government)
  4. 4. My Executioner (feat. Your Government)
  5. 5. Authority's Hold (feat. Your Government)
  6. 6. The Irrevocable Temple of Knowledge
  7. 7. Arms
  8. 8. To The Light (piano vr)
  9. 9. The Endlessness (Song For Young Xenophobes)
  10. 10. Washed Upon Your Shores
  11. 11. The Becoming (with Die Tödliche Doris)
  12. 12. Zah Zah: Part II
  13. 13. Wulkania (with Felix Kubin)
Artists: Mary Ocher

Berlin psychedelic pop craftswoman and experimental vocalist, Mary Ocher returns with an all-encompassing new album, her darkest yet, in times of confusion. It is a document on social indignation and the deconstruction of our identities as citizens. 

The West Against The People’ produced with Hans Joachim Irmler (of Faust) is Mary's fifth full length release, and second on Krautrock veteran's label Klangbad. The new recordings feature tracks with her two drummers, Your Government, as well as collaborations with avant-garde legends Die Tödliche Doris, Felix Kubin and Julia Kent (of Rasputina / Anthony and The Johnsons).

Ocher's own culturally diverse background, political stance and radical lifestyle choices have contributed to much of the interest in her work and sense of adventure, in life as well as art. Her essay ‘The West Against The People’ expands on the themes of the album and the social preface to it.

Ranging from traditional folk and raw 60s garage, hints of early industrial music, ambient with ethereal vocals and abstract synths, to experimental pop with African and South American rhythms – Its narrative drawing on bodies, being washed upon the sand in a first person proclamation, to jungle flavoured exotic grooves, with a human voice turning into a bird turning back into a human, merging with poetry and wordplay - this is a truly complex jam of a record, covering a spectacular musical landscape, building on Ocher's existing rich musical heritage. ’The West Against The People’ is a cohesive but astonishingly wide ranging work from a powerful artist, musician and song-writer.

Ocher has toured North America many times, South East Asia, Australia, New Zealand and all of Europe from Iceland to Russia, along with several UK tours. Her album "Eden" was produced by King Khan (out on four labels, currently in its second editions on tape and vinyl).

“Mary Ocher gives me the chills, she frightens me with her feral soul. Her sound is of a true outsider artist, immaculately self-possessed… Time to set her loose on the world. I’m so happy she exists. Set me free Mary!" - Karen O, Yeah Yeah Yeahs

News for The West Against The People




By signing in you agree to our privacy terms. Read our privacy policy here. Tailored Communication stores your information safely for the only purpose of giving you access to our music promos. We never give out any contact information to third parties and will delete all your information upon request. The Tailored website uses Cookies to enable logins, downloads and feedback on the website.