Releases / Singles

James Braun
Tearjerker EP

16 November 2017 / Tartelet

  1. 01. Tearjerker
  2. 02. Tearjerker (Galaxy Dub)
  3. 03. Panalama Party People
  4. 04. Hakkebøf
  5. Digital Bonus: Panalama Party People (Wilma Remix)
  6. Digital Bonus: Tearjerker (JB's Galaxy Deeper Dub)
Artists: James Braun

After a five-year hiatus, Tartelet mainstay James Braun returns with the EP Tearjerker, announcing his debut album for 2018.

JB (James Braun) has been part of the label since its conception in 2007 and has contributed immensely to its development. Over the years, his sound has continuously morphed – from cheeky tech house, to emotional Detroit-inspired house escapades – always reflecting his originality and worthy musicianship.

The Tearjerker EP is a testament to JB’s musical journey. Rooted in classic U.S. house and techno, the EP delivers elaborate melodies not found in earlier productions. The tracks were all produced at the newly opened Panalama Studio in Copenhagen, which JB runs alongside Lasse Walentin.

The A-side ‘Tearjerker’ showcases JB’s signature heavy groove and bass, combined with rich pads and playful synth melodies. The upshot is a carefree but sentimental house banger, inspired by California sunshine and teenage heartbreak; filled to the brim with adolescent emotion.

The acid pattern and synthetic strings of ‘Galaxy Dub’ takes Tearjerker into adulthood, exposing a tactile energy that sits well in any late-night set.

Party People of Panalama’ is deep, melancholic, almost trancy at times, with walking bass all over the place. 

On ’Hakkebøf’, James Braun’s evil twin, Bobby Braun, takes over, infesting his sound with muscular minimalism. The 707 beat is accompanied by a simple music box pattern – chopped, ground, and mashed into a beefy beast.

On the digital release, you will find two exclusive remixes by JB himself and Copenhagen friends Wilma. Braun’s own remix ‘Galaxy Deeper Dub’ is a funky dub techno brute, reminiscent of his earlier output. On Wilma’s remix of PPP, eerie strings and lapsed drum machines fight for your attention before pads and bass set in to take you deep down to underground Copenhagen.




By signing in you agree to our privacy terms. Read our privacy policy here. Tailored Communication stores your information safely for the only purpose of giving you access to our music promos. We never give out any contact information to third parties and will delete all your information upon request. The Tailored website uses Cookies to enable logins, downloads and feedback on the website.