Releases / Albums

The Power & The Glory

17 February 2014 / Perc Trax

  1. 1. Rotting Sound
  2. 2. Speek
  3. 3. Lurch
  4. 4. Galloper
  5. 5. David & George
  6. 6. Horse Gum
  7. 7. Dumpster
  8. 8. Bleeding Colours
  9. 9. Take Your Body Off
  10. 10. A Living End
Artists: Perc

Perc (aka London based Ali Wells) returns with his second album following 2011’s ‘Wicker & Steel’ the release of which pushed his sound to a wider audience than ever before. From making #5 on the Quietus’ best of 2011 list to The Guardian describing it as ‘a soundtrack for our times’ the album crossed into areas rarely reached by techno long­players.

‘The Power & The Glory’ takes the sound and expands it outwards in every direction. The rhythmic tracks pulse with more energy and bite than ever before, whilst the freeform tracks add a melodic and occasionally political edge to Perc’s already expansive repertoire.

Using the longer album format to its full potential covers much ground across these 10 tracks. From the feedback ­drenched 808 jam of ‘Lurch’ and the Tresor­ storming ‘Dumpster’ to the majestic piano closer ‘A Living Sound’ the album finds Wells as open­minded as ever, maintaining his trademark sonic aesthetic whilst experimenting with new textual and rhythmic ideas with ease.

The album features collaborations with two vocalists. ‘Speek’ includes a contribution from Nik Colk Void of Factory Floor (DFA/Optimo) whilst opener ‘Rotting Sound’ and lead single ‘Take Your Body Off’ feature Dan Chandler of London noise rock outfit Dethscalator. The last of these in particular is the kind of track that differentiates him from many of his peers. The piercing, guttural vocals, more akin to the short sharp shock of a metal performance provide the kind of sonic jolt techno used to trade in, yet which is rarely heard these days.

The album will be supported by a tour taking in dates in Europe, North and South America, including launch parties in London, Berlin, Los Angeles and Buenos Aires. Album performances will range from DJ sets to a brand new hardware based live show and all will feature album­ based visuals. The album artwork has been designed by regular Trax / Submit collaborator Jonny Costello and this will be the first Trax album to be released on vinyl, with a 2 x 12” release as well as CD and download formats.




By signing in you agree to our privacy terms. Read our privacy policy here. Tailored Communication stores your information safely for the only purpose of giving you access to our music promos. We never give out any contact information to third parties and will delete all your information upon request. The Tailored website uses Cookies to enable logins, downloads and feedback on the website.