Releases / Compilations

Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh: Revisted & Remixed (1970-1999)

24 June 2011 /

  1. CD 1 - 01 Aguirre I Lacrima di Rei
  2. CD 1 - 02 Affenstunde
  3. CD 1 - 03 In den Gärten Pharaos
  4. CD 1 - 04 Ich Mache Einen Spiegel
  5. Cd 1 - 05 Nachts-Schnee
  6. CD 1 - 06 Eine andere Welt
  7. CD 1 - 07 In Your Eyes
  8. CD 1 - 08 Train Through Time
  9. CD 1 - 09 Nascita
  10. CD 1 - 10 Brüder Des Schattens
  11. CD 1 - 11 Through Pain To Heaven
  12. CD 1 - 12 Kailash: Last Village
  13. CD 2 - 01 Aguirre I / II (Lacrima Di Rei edit) - Peter Kruder Remix
  14. CD 2 - 02 Schnee (Flow edit) - Thomas Fehlmann Flow Mix
  15. CD 2 - 03 Heart of Glass (Sei Still Wisse Ich Bin Edit) - A Critical Mass Remix
  16. CD 2 - 04 Haram Dei Haram Dei (Prog Rock edit) - Alex Barck Remix
  17. CD 2 - 05 Through Pain to Heaven / Kyrie (Edit) - Roland Appel Remix
  18. CD 2 - 06 Nachts Schnee (Ambient edit) - Mika Vainio Remix
  19. CD 2 - 07 Gärten Pharaos (Dark Development Edit) - Moritz von Oswald Remix
  20. CD 2 - 08 Through Pain To Heaven (Dopeful Vuh) - Mouse On Mars Remix
  21. CD 2 - 09 Hosianna Mantra (Lyrics edit) - Stereolab Remix
  22. CD 2 - 10 Aguirre I / II (Endless edit) - Haswell & Hecker Remix
  23. CD 2 - Train through time (long edit)
Artists: Popol Vuh
Remixers: Haswell & Hecker, Stereolab, Mouse On Mars , Moritz von Oswald, Mika Vainio, Roland Appel, A Critical Mass, Thomas Fehlmann, Peter Kruder, alex barck

As a tribute and homage to German progressive rock band Popol Vuh, SPV records announces a special record release: marking the 10th anniversary of the death of the band ́s founder Florian Fricke, “Popol Vuh Revisited & Remixed (1970-1999)“ combines selected Popol Vuh tracks, new bonus material and eleven remixes of Popol Vuh by avant- garde bands and electronic musicians. A Popol Vuh selection of electronica and Werner Herzog soundtracks, together with 10 ambient , downtempo and club remixes - it will be available on double CD and digitally in June 2011

“Popol Vuh: Revisted & Remixed (1970-1999)" is a double album: CD1 contains original Popol Vuh tracks, highlighting their ambient and electronica oeuvre, including 197s Moog III Synthesizer tracks and selected soundtracks of Werner Herzog's classic films “Aguirre“, “Nosferatu“ and “Cobra Verde“. Popol Vuh is now the second German progrock band after Can to be remixed by a younger generation: elevating Popol Vuh's music into the 21st Century. CD2 introduces their music to a younger audience: It includes tribute remixes by Vienna ́s Peter Kruder (Kruder & Dorfmeister), Berlin based electronic combos Mouse on Mars and Stereolab, Dub experts A Critical Mass, Moritz von Oswald,Thomas Fehlmann (The Orb), deep houses Roland Appel and Alex Bark (Jazzanova), as well as minimal specialists Mika Vainio (Pan Sonic) and Haswell / Hecker. They have remixed Popol Vuh original electronic albums such as“Affenstunde“, “In den Gärten Pharaos“ and their soundtracks including “Aguirre“, “Nosferatu“, “Heart of Glas“ and “CobraVerde“. Remixes of more lyrical, progrock-oriented, classic Popol Vuh albums like “Hosianna Mantra“, “Letzte Tage, Letzte Nächte“ recall the typical Popol Vuh sound of piano journeys, cosmic guitars and strings, hypnotic conga drums and lyrical rides.

With a new rebirth of ambient and progrock, over the past decades, Popol Vuh's music has inspired a younger generation of composers, bands and electronic musicians including Aphex Twin, Stereolab or Mouse on Mars. Currently new “Kosmische“ movements are rising in Berlin, London and New York. Produced by Edition Popol Vuh, Johannes Fricke, and techno producer and DJ Roland Appel, this album is a deep listening journey into Popol Vuh's electronica and soundtrack world.

Popol Vuh are considered one of the most influential German “70s progressive rock” avant- garde acts and are also known as a pioneering band in ambient- electronica and progressive rock music. They were the first german band to employ a Moog synthesizer and played their records "Affenstunde" (1971) and "In the Garden of Pharao" (1972) with the Moog III Synthesizer which are claimed to be fundamentally influencing works in electronica. They went down in the annals of German film music history with their soundtracks for legendary cinema classics by director Werner Herzog and composed more than 15 soundtracks, with the majority of them for Herzog's feature films with Klaus Kinski as the leading character. From 2004 on, SPV has reissued the complete back catalogue of 20 original albums by Popol Vuh.

'Popol Vuh created borderless atmospheres forever resonating in the world of today and tomorrow.”

Peter Kruder (Kruder & Dorfmeister)

“Rethinking European and German post- War music Popol Vuh is of particular interest to us. It came out of the blue, from a inextinctable desire to reach out to spiritual, deeply personal insights. Like a mess for the mystic joy of existence itself. Maybe a „Hosianna“ on what was left or at all relevant of the totally fucked up German historical heritage in the 1960s. Our Remix from Nosferatus "Through pain to Heaven" is a song, which we would have liked to hear on our new album. “

Jan Werner & Andi Thoma ( Mouse on Mars)

“Popol Vuh guided me into a world of wonder and awe. At it's core the music is very spiritual, they just sound far out and mysterious. The clanging guitar chord of 'Wehe Khorazin' (Fitzcarraldo Soundtrack) will stay with me all my life. At that moment you really do travel a million miles. “

Timothy Gane (Stereolab)

“To be involved in a project like this means always to require as much as possible knowledge about the music or band or artist , who created the original. I thought that I know a lot about Popol Vuh. But I learned that there is much more behind this project than music. It ́s almost a cosmos and I think that's the reason why the music and the project Popol Vuh is such an inspiration for so many people, including myself.“

Roland Appel (Co-Producer “Popol Vuh Revisited & Remixed 1970-1999“)




By signing in you agree to our privacy terms. Read our privacy policy here. Tailored Communication stores your information safely for the only purpose of giving you access to our music promos. We never give out any contact information to third parties and will delete all your information upon request. The Tailored website uses Cookies to enable logins, downloads and feedback on the website.