Releases / Compilations

Various Artists - Permanent Vacation
Permanent Vacation X Ten Years Label Anniversary

01 September 2017 / Permanent Vacation

  1. A. John Talabot - The Strange Silence
  2. B1. Mano Le Tough - Full On Spring
  3. B2. TB & Bostro Posepeo - Violet
  4. B3. New Jackson - There Will Always Be This Love (featuring Margie Jean Lewis)
  5. C1. Lake People - Morrow
  6. C2. Lauer - Falling Back Up
  7. C3. Woolfy vs Projections - Astronaut
  8. D1. Red Axes - Eastern Crown
  9. D2. Joakim - Camino De La Lune (Dub Version)
  10. E1. Pional - State Of Presence
  11. E2. Benjamin Fröhlich – I.A.M.B.D.
  12. F1. Tuff City Kids - Hardlake
  13. F2. The Drifter - Space Ramp
  14. G1. Daniel Bortz - Chasing Worms
  15. G2. Lord Of The Isles - Out Here
  16. H1. Joakim - Camino De La Luna
  17. H2. Tensnake - Cielo

Celebrating its 10 years label anniversary Permanent Vacation releases a top-notch package of 16 brand-new tracks by their main artists including John Talabot, Tuff City Kids, Mano Le Tough, Tensnake, Red Axes, Pional and many more. Plus special guest Joakim, who contributed the track “Camino De La Luna”; paying homage to his classic remix for Antenaʼs Camino Del Sol, the first big hit on the label 10 years ago.



But letʼs look back for a minute, because a lot has happened since Tom Bioly and Benjamin Fröhlich dusted off the mirror balls in Munich. Since the 1970s the city always had a reputation for being one of the worldʼs disco capitals and Permanent Vacation took good care of this precious heritage being partly responsible for the new found love of Disco music and its variations such as BALEARIC, COSMIC, KRAUTROCK or PROTOHOUSE.

Back then Tom, who for several years had been working in the music business, was a regular at PlayRecords that was run by Benjamin, who had also been busy as a DJ and party promoter. Soon theybecame friends and discovered their astoundingly similar taste in music. The label name PERMANENT VACATION also reflects the way the label came into existence, since the its main concept was developed during pingpong matches rather than at a conference table.

Already their first release, a compilation of the same name—“PERMANENT VACATION”—, was celebrated as “razor-sharp, pulsating, pornographic, all fuses opening crazy pop” by one of Germanyʼs leading daily newspaper Süddeutsche Zeitung.

Taking off from here Permanent Vacation managed to become one of the flagships of the new movement and had several genre-defining hits with the reissue of Antenaʼs classic "Camino del Sol" album (even the Pet Shop Boys claimed it as an influence) and the accompanying remixes.

Next up was the album "Miss Diamond to you" by singer Kathy Diamond, produced by the wild boogie wizard Maurice Fulton. This album was followed by multiple releases worth mentioning, many of which can be called modern day disco classics by now: Tensnakeʼs Coma Cat, which entered the UK single charts, Azari & III “Reckless with your love”, albums by Swedish Italo princess Sally Shapiro and by Vienna heartthrob Wolfram, Jacques Renaultʼs remix of Midnight Magicʼs Beam Me Up, 40 Thieves “Don't turn it off”, Todd Terje's “Remaster of the Universe remix collection” as well as regular output by Woolfy vs. Projections, who belong to a loosely associated group of musicians, who moved from Great Britain to California trooping up with the legendary and myth-enshrouded disco guru DJ Harvey.

But to reduce Permanent Vacation to Disco and Balearic wouldnʼt do justice to the labelʼs ever-growingcatalog. Bioly and Fröhlich deem Disco a form of mentality anyway, defying all too fixed and earnest paradigms of dance music. This is why the catalog also comprises library music compilations, Krautrock from the GDR, soundtracks of horror flicks, electro from Dmx Krew, vocoder poetry by New Jackson, cheerful party anthems by Lauer, oddball house by Bostro Pesopeo as well as Pional, an ode to the sun by Red Axes, music from Pollyester that subvert any categorization, blissful pop by Róisín Murphy, folky house by The Drifter, electronica from Lake People, cinematic soundscapes by Lord Of The Isles and the music by John Talabot, who celebrated his first release ever on Permanent Vacation in 2009.

Talabotʼs album "Fin" became a massive success in the dance scene as well as in the indie world. He can be considered somewhat of a game changer as he is one of the biggest stars, who emerged out  of the electronic dance music in recent years. The other big homemade success story was told through Irishman Mano Le Tough, who landed on planet

Permanent Vacation with two widely popular albums, which can loosely be described as tender house. Already the first album boosted Mano into the universe of the worldʼs leading House DJs and producers. Finally, there is the latest Permanent Vacation adventure – the debut album by German production duo Tuff City Kids, Phillip Lauer and Gerd Janson, who were able to transform their previously more remix-based work into a fun and skilled ride through different electronic music styles without loosing consistence.

And this brings us back to the present and the year 2017, where Permanent Vacation remains a solid constant in the obscure jungle of modern dance music, testament to which is the compilation you are holding in your hands.

Benjamin Fröhlich and Tom Bioly were able to gather all the regular vacationers (including themselves) and some special guests such as Joakim or Daniel Bortz, all of whom contributed celebratory exclusives. The result features 16 tracks that are going from loud to quite, from fast to slow, from jungle to desert and thus capture the whole Permanent Vacation sound spectrum. Here we go and cin cin to the coming 100 years.




By signing in you agree to our privacy terms. Read our privacy policy here. Tailored Communication stores your information safely for the only purpose of giving you access to our music promos. We never give out any contact information to third parties and will delete all your information upon request. The Tailored website uses Cookies to enable logins, downloads and feedback on the website.