The Orb featuring Lee Scratch Perry

Labels: Cooking Vinyl

Lee Scratch Perry began making music in the late 50s for Clement Coxsone Dodd's label. Following a stint at Joe Gibbs's Amalgamated Records, Perry formed his own imprint, Upsetter, in 1968.

In the early 1960s, Lee’s mixing board experiments resulted in the creation of dub. He is synonymous with his innovative production techniques and renowned for his studio band The Upsetters.

In 1973, Perry built The Black Ark studios, where he produced records for iconic musicians like Bob Marley & the Wailers, Junior Byles, Junior Murvin, The Heptones, The Congos and Max Romeo.

By 1978 The Black Ark had fallen into a state of disrepair and eventually, the studio burned to the ground; Perry insists that he torched the studio himself in a fit of rage.

Perry has recorded with Keith Richards, The Beastie Boys, George Clinton, David Lynch, Andrew WK, Moby, Ari Up of The Slits, Bill Laswell, Tunde Adebimpe (TV On The Radio), Sly Dunbar, Brian Chippendale of Lightning Bolt, Adrian Sherwood, Mad Professor and porn star Sasha Grey.

Lee’s song Enter the Dragon was sampled by Panda Bear from Animal Collective. He was then selected by A.C. to perform at All Tomorrow's Parties, which the band curated in 2011.

Rolling Stone Magazine featured Perry in their list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time. Although 74 years old, Lee is fit, sprightly and at a creative peak. He divides his time between Jamaica and in Switzerland.

Dr. Alex Paterson is a Battersea resident, punk & acid house veteran, and founding member of The Orb. His career started as a roadie for seminal post punks Killing Joke, for whom his childhood friend Martin ‘Youth’ Glover played bass.

Alex met future KLF member Jimmy Cauty and the duo began DJ-ing together as The Orb. They started a residency at feted London club night The Land of Oz, and their sonic collage style of DJing soon morphed into making records. Then, in 1988 Alex and Youth put together the seminal acid house/Balearic label WAU! Mr. Modo Records.

Members of The Orb have been fluid over the years, with Alex remaining the constant throughout. He has collaborated with Dave Gilmour (Pink Floyd), Steve Hillage (Gong), Jah Wobble (PiL) and Robert Fripp (King Crimson).

In 1990, the Alex and Youth incarnation of The Orb released the bona-fide classic Little Fluffy Clouds, which borrowed a sample from Steve Reich's Electric Counterpoint, and transported it to another dimension. 1992 saw the single Blue Room reach # 8 in the British charts, with the band famously playing chess on-stage for Top of the Pops.

Longplayers The Orb's Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld and U.F.Orb, are often cited as seminal classics and the latter reached #1 in the British album charts in 1992. Alex Paterson also co-wrote the peerless Higher Than The Sun by Primal Scream. THE ORBSERVER in the star house will be the Orb’s 13th studio album.

Thomas Fehlman’s creative journey began fully in 1976, when he studied at the Hamburg Art Academy under world-renowned artist Sigmar Polke.

In '79 he released several tracks on the Das Ist Scheonheit compilation, produced under the supervision of Tangerine Dream and Kluster musician Conrad Schnitzler. Following that, Fehlman founded the new wave/avant garde band Palais Schaumburg. The band disbanded in 1984, when Thomas moved to Berlin. In 1985 he released his debut solo 12" as the sample-heavy Ready Made.

In '88 Thomas founded the label Teutonic Beats, then took part in the Kunstdisco Project (at the Goethe Institute) in Seoul/Korea during the Olympics. In '89 he produced dancefloor classic Moving by Marathon, which reached # 1 in the UK dance charts. That year he also began his ongoing partnership with the Orb.

He has worked on the following Orb releases: Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld, U.F.ORB , Orbus Terrarum, Okie Dokie, it´s The ORB on Kompakt, the Plastic Planet soundtrack Baghdad Batteries and THE ORBSERVER in the star house.

Thomas has either produced, remixed or collaborated with Juan Atkins, Blake Baxter, Underground Resistance, Eddie ´Flashin´ Fowlkes, Erasure, Klaus Schulze, Einstürzende Neubauten, Depeche Mode, Sigur Ros and Moritz Von Oswald (half of Basic Channel / Maurizio). He's released records on labels including Kompakt, R&S, Apollo and Plug Research.

Fehlman was also one quarter of FFWD - the collaborative album also featuring Alex, Kris Weston and Robert Fripp. Additionally, Thomas recorded the soundtrack for the monumental documentary 24hours Berlin, and produced and staged a piece in Montreal based on Mahler's First Symphony, on invitation by the Symphony Orchestra Montreal and Kent Nagano.




By signing in you agree to our privacy terms. Read our privacy policy here. Tailored Communication stores your information safely for the only purpose of giving you access to our music promos. We never give out any contact information to third parties and will delete all your information upon request. The Tailored website uses Cookies to enable logins, downloads and feedback on the website.